They can ban me, but they can’t leave me alone

A few years ago, I wrote a blog post about the disbanding of the LDS Relief Society, which I thought was interesting. I noticed today that a number of people had read that piece, and that almost all of them had followed a link on  the MormonDialogue board. Curious, I went over to see what was being said.

True to form, a couple of posters decided to take the opportunity to take a few personal shots at me, and for good measure made sure everyone knew my IRL name (not that it’s a secret). One of the shots came from someone I considered a friend, so his comments stung a little. It’s true that I have long since been banned from that board, as one of the posters noted. What happened is that I posted a rather innocuous top-ten list on a different board, which was cross-posted on the MormonDialogue board. I attempted to apologize for offending anyone, which resulted in my being banned. I hadn’t been posting much there, anyway, so it wasn’t a big deal. But since I can’t post there, I’ll just say a few words here.

First, do I spend “some effort finding opportunities to knock the Church”? Hardly. If I wanted to go after the LDS church, I would surely do something worse than semi-regular musings on the religion and culture. I’ve said before that, if people are happy in the LDS church, that is where they should be.

Am I “wrapped around the axle with” the church? Maybe, but it’s hard to “grow out of” something that is part of every single day of my life.  It’s impossible “let the Church be and just move along” when my family and I are immersed in Mormonism. And I am not “fixated” on Mormonism any more than I am fixated on politics, cooking, British television, or any number of things I find interesting.

And the purification ritual I “invented” was a brief musing on how nice it would be to have that part of my life be over. It’s not, and it probably never will be. So, I don’t apologize for discussing things that are, like it or not, important aspects of my life, past, present, and future.

But seriously, why do I keep coming up in a place I haven’t been anywhere near in at least four years? It’s like they’re fixated on me.

4 Responses to They can ban me, but they can’t leave me alone

  1. Gotta love the double-standard – irony at it’s best.

  2. Camille Biexei says:

    Clearly you have hit a few nerves or they would ignore you. I think a more interesting question is why do they seem to feel so threatened by you that they have to keep refuting you? If they have the TRUTH why do you make them sooo uncomfortable that they have to attack you? I thought TRUTH could take care of itself and needs no “defense”.
    I have always been leery of Defenders of the Faith. The Spanish Inquisition was all over that one.
    At least the FAITHFUL can’t burn anyone at the stake anymore, or some of us might already be ash.

  3. Donnell Allan says:

    I hear you. I feel for you. I’ve been getting some of the same myself. Keep up the good work. Your blog is great.

  4. vikingz2000 says:

    I would really like to see that ‘list’. Can you post it here? Thank you, and best of the holiday season to you and yours (can I still say, ‘Merry Christmas’?, though, but for Heaven’s sake, and Jesus’, please don’t ban me if I do.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

