Ray’s Story

I’ve known Ray A for a very long time. I think we both posted on the old alt.religion.mormon forum back in the 90s. Back then I was a pretty uber-believing Mormon, and Ray was, in my view, an unnecessarily bitter ex-Mormon. I watched him battle it out with Daniel C. Peterson and other apologists, and I watched him later mellow in his attitude towards them.

I kept tabs on Ray because I sometimes worried about him. Many times I sent him encouraging emails or personal messages (wow, I sound almost as self-congratulatory as Tom Monson). Anyway, a while back we both were posting on mormondiscussions.com, and things got a little heated. I got quite a serving of Ray’s wrath (but I lived to tell about it).

I’ve known some of his story, but not really all of it. But I just read his story on his blog, and I am at a loss for words. Much of what I experienced is there, but to a much greater degree.

Frankly, how Ray survived what he’s been through is a miracle to me. I can’t comment on his blog (blocked behind my firewall), but you might take a look at it. He knows his Mormon history and doctrine, and has been through the proverbial wringer.

I think in the end, Ray and I are good friends. If you’re ever here, or I’m there, Ray, I’ll buy us a couple of beers.

3 Responses to Ray’s Story

  1. Ray A says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Runtu, and again I apologise that my occasional Dragon’s fire singed your clothes in the heat of battle. “Collateral damage”. LOL. I’m off most forums now.

    I wouldn’t be reading or posting on your blog if I didn’t think you were a good person. I’ve seen you go from defender and believer, to unbeliever, over a long period of time, and I really think all you’ve tried to do, first and foremost – is be honest with yourself. That, above all, is the most important thing in life. Yours was no overnight decision.

  2. Chris says:

    I saw that Ray posted his story and have been meaning to read it, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I think I’ll go do so right now. Thanks for the tip!

  3. runtu says:

    No apologies necessary, Ray. I’m just glad we’ve gotten past that little episode.

Leave a Reply

