Stuck in My Head

Last night I was watching the film Snatch., and several times they played snippets of The Specials’ “Ghost Town.” I couldn’t sleep last night because the song kept playing over in my head, even though it’s probably been twenty years since I heard the song.

The song reminds me of my high school days, when Southern California rich kids and surfers were affecting the mod style of the British 2Tone ska movement. The song “Ghost Town” illustrates rather nicely the despair and pessimism of Thatcherite Britain at the time, and the contrast could not have been greater with the sunny optimism of early eighties America. But it was fashionable to put on a gloomy face along with the military overcoats and Ray Bans while riding a Vespa GS scooter.

As I was watching the video, it struck me that the mood aligns pretty well with what’s going on in the US right now: economic turbulence, political discord, and some rather disastrous foreign policies.

Of course the clothes and the hair are different.

2 Responses to Stuck in My Head

  1. I was among the masses in S. Cal, the ‘rich’/’surfer’ type who truly enjoyed the Ska movement. Even the hair styles like you saw in the 80s seem to be making a come back.

    Anyway, I digress. It is quite amazing how much this video resonates with my feelings. Now, you’ll have company in your insomnia. The Specials will be haunting my thoughts.

  2. Nom says:

    Go rent ‘Shawn of the Dead’. It’s all thru that movie, and you will laugh your ass off too.

Leave a Reply

