An Inadvertent Experiment

As some of you know, I post (probably too often) on the Mormon Apologetics and Discussion Board, which is a message board that is heavily biased toward the pro-Mormon side. I first published my “Stupid Critic Tricks” (wherein I pointed stupid anti-Mormon arguments) at 6:10 p.m. on July 21. It’s still going strong.

By contrast, I posted “Stupid Apologist Tricks” (which criticized dumb pro-Mormon arguments) at 9:13 a.m. the following morning. The thread lasted not even four hours, when it was closed by the moderators at 1:08 p.m. Of course, the reason it was closed was that someone had come perilously close to discussing LDS temple content, which is strictly off-limits. However, in the past, when someone has posted temple content, they are given a warning, and the content is deleted. With my thread, the whole thread was locked.

I’m not sure what to make of this. On the one hand, I hate thinking that the moderators over there were so averse to criticism of their own that they closed the thread, but then I’m not sure there’s any other way to read what happened.

Oh, well. I guess this is just a reminder that when you post at MAD, you really can’t expect impartial treatment if you’re at all critical of Mormonism.

9 Responses to An Inadvertent Experiment

  1. Mina says:

    I hate it when you make me go to that place and read that stuff.

  2. I don’t understand why you are so surprised, Runtu. The Moderators over on MAD are blatantly biased. They really don’t make any bones about it anymore.

    I keep telling you to stay away from Slytherin. 😉

  3. SillyNut says:

    I was going to say, they were constantly shutting down anyone who was not THRILLED with Mormonism. Want me to come and post perilously close to temple content comments in the other thread and see how long it takes to shut that one down?

  4. runtu says:

    Liz, I’m not surprised that they shut it down. Just thought it was funny how quickly it happened.

  5. Tim says:

    One of the reasons I stopped posting there was that it was clear that the MADB brethren got to play by different rules than everyone else.

  6. runtu says:

    Absolutely right, Tim. I must be a masochist or something.

  7. zackc says:

    Duh and yeesh. Sometimes I think runtu is the among the dumb smart people. 😉

  8. Seven says:

    I saw the comments and there was nothing even close to breaking the rules of temple content on your thread. There was another thread going on that same day discussing the temple in much more detail that was never closed or given a warning. Someone even mentioned tokens and signs. I think it was Tarski’s thread.

  9. Lamanite says:

    I’m glad you post there. When you find a fair and balanced place to discuss Mormonism, please let me know. Until then you can find me at CARM and MADB, or the FOX news network inc.

Leave a Reply

