Jammin’

The apricots have arrived with a vengeance. My kids filled a 3-gallon BYU Creamery bucket and a large collander with apricots, and I made 8 batches of jam. That’s 40 cups of fruit, 56 cups of sugar, and 8 packages of pectin. I had an enormous stock pot full of translucent orange jam, which we then transferred into quart and pint jars. Amazingly enough, all of the jars sealed, so they are ready for long-term storage.

When I was younger, making jam always seemed like a bigger production. My dad had one of those big, black canning pots, which to a small child seemed like it was the size of a washtub. Maybe it’s just that I have a lot of help, but it wasn’t that big of a deal making my own jam. I have the same big canning pot, but it doesn’t seem as huge as it was to a little boy helping his dad. It was incredibly hot in the kitchen (and I’ve been dealing with some serious migraines), so it wasn’t all that pleasant. But one of my daughters chopped the apricots, another measured the sugar, and I stirred the hot mixture on the stove. I think we have somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 jars of jam from that first batch.

But the scary thing is that we haven’t made a dent in the number of apricots on the two trees. The tree out by the street doesn’t get as much direct sun, so it doesn’t have as much fruit as the other one, which is so loaded down that the branches are bending toward the ground. So, we have a lot of jam making to do before we even get to the plums (that tree is loaded, too). And I will be making grape juice when the grapes are on.

The best thing about making jam, though, is spending time with my kids. I don’t know how long they’ll be excited to can fruit and jam, but for now, they think it’s as fun as I do. And having a few hours when we’re doing something productive together is worth all the apricot jam in the world.

8 Responses to Jammin’

  1. OutontheFarm says:

    Oh, you’re making me homesick! My parents have apricot trees and I remember the smell of my mom making jam in the summer. I don’t think I was much help, and I sure didn’t appreciate the great homemade jam as much as I should have. I’m glad we don’t live in T.O. anymore, but I love visiting in the summer just to get a taste of all the fruit from the backyard. I’m glad you’re enjoying this time with your kids. Such a nice post.

  2. BMW says:

    I helped make no jam…

  3. Mina says:

    Home. Sick.

  4. zackc says:

    We’re jammin…I wanna jammin with you. We’re jammin, and I hope you like jammin too.

  5. runtu says:

    Next time any of you are out in Utah, I’ll save a jar for you; not you, BMW, as you didn’t help, and you still have a lawn to mow. 🙂

  6. Lamanite says:

    Your post made me think of the time Elder Bednar likened a cucumbers evolution into a pickle, to that of an individual being “born again”. It was apt and ridiculous in the same breath. Being Mormon truly is great and terrible.

    Big UP!

    Sione

    PS Hook me up with the jam homie. I’m eating grape jelly made by someone named “Kroger”. Are you coming to FAIR conference? I’m being serious. I’ll introduce you as Tamasi’i ‘O Tonga. I’ll tell people your my half brother. 🙂

  7. Jam, eh? What do you have against jelly? You’re anti-jelly, aren’t you?

    Bigot.

  8. TxAgKuwait says:

    Howdy and no, I am not stalking you. After your spot o’ trouble which coincided with you leaving Paradise a while back, I make it a point to make sure you are still doing okay.

    The apricot preserves sound really good…..but if you were down here I could turn you on to jar after jar of home canned pickle spears, home canned pickle slices, home canned whole dills, home canned jalapenos (slices and whole jalapeno), home grown watermelon, home grown watermelon sorbet, and jar upon jar of figs.

    Needless to say, the garden was real prolific this year……the peppers, squash, zucchini, cukes, beans, and melons have gone crazy. Of course I have the water bill to prove it. And finally, the tomatoes….the climate was all wrong for tomatoes early on….the tomatoes have caught fire and I am getting between 12-20 baseball sized tomatoes a day. Fortunately the peppers are still perking right along so I guess we’ll be canning a lot of homemade hot sauce.

    Wife is fine…..she lost 109 lbs and quit losing and has kept the same weight now for 4 months…she gripes that she has 5 more lbs to lose but she is in a size 8. No need for me to shop around for an additional celestial wife, not that I would ever believe in such nonsense.

    Kids doing fine too….daughter is in the driving phase of her driver’s ed, If I lived in a big place instead of Lampasas, TX I would be concerned. The worst thing that can happen here is to run over a goat or a deer. Or maybe both.

    We are looking forward to Tropical Storm Edouard…….Dolly missed us completely and I need the rain badly. It would be nice if it meandered its way to Central TX and rained itself out right over my house. We’ve had just 10″ of rain this year (normal rainfall is about 28″ by this time) so I could use a bit of a flood to fill up my tank and get my creek to running again. (Also to block the water gaps where my fence crosses the creek…and when it is this dry, the blasted goats get down in the creek bed and squeeze under the wire).

    But enough of that. Suffice it to say that life in Texas is sometimes its own reward, wish you were here, but I continue to be delighted that things seem to be going well. If your stalked continues to give you a bad time, let me know. I still have enough of my Army personality traits left to track him down for you, rip off his head, and crap down his neck.

    Last but not least…….Twylah, the bookie I use during the fall when I bet football, set an over-under on the number of FLDS indictments. I believe the betting line was 12, so I took the over. I hope I win, and if I win, so do those poor kids.

    Take care, I’ll holler again one a these days. Best regards to wife and your jam-making offspring.

    TxAgQ8

Leave a Reply

