Fall Is Here

I’m sitting here listening to some classic punk on my headphones and enjoying the cooling weather. Here in Provo, Fall means only one thing: BYU football.

I’ve never been much of an athlete, though I played soccer and tennis through high school. These days I’m happy just to get a good jog in once in a while. But I do enjoy watching college football, and I still cheer for my alma mater.

Some former Mormons get to the point at which they spit on all things related to the church, including BYU, but I can’t seem to let go of it. I got season tickets for my birthday this year (and last), and most weeks I can’t wait for Saturday.

Back in Texas a couple of friends from my ward and I would go to a sports bar to watch the games on a big screen. These days I watch the away games on cable and go to the home games.

Honestly, I don’t think they’re the “BCS busters” some people think they are. They squeaked past a mediocre Washington team last week and looked sloppy against Northern Iowa the week before. UCLA may not roll over as easily this week.

Anyway, I hardly ever talk about sports, but for whatever reason, I still love the Cougars.

11 Responses to Fall Is Here

  1. Red Rod says:

    OMG! You mean to tell me that you can rationalize rooting for the virtual vanguard of the Mormon missionary effort in America? Boinko Mendenhall and his troops represent the absolute caricatures of the “Lord’s Warriors”. They are the epitome of everything that is wrong with how TSCC indoctrinates its young males. Come Friday night they’ll all be gathered in some local stake center spouting off the virtues of missions, resistance to the natural urge to self-pleasure, “following the prophet”, etc. Boinko has made it perfectly clear that he understands the mission of his football team is to advance the “cause of the Kingdom.” And you are actually going to go to LES on Saturday and root for THAT?

    I’m sorry Runny, but you’ve got to seriously reconsider your allegiances in the light of your new-found clarity of mind. To the extent they keep you loyal to their football-team-cum-cult-ambassadors, they make you a supporter of their twisted cause.

    Just sayin’.

  2. runtu says:

    Yes, I’m a slave to the twisted cause. LOL

  3. Red Rod says:

    You know, I’ve often wondered how “The Church” can even rationalize the decision to sponsor a football team. If there is anything that would seem to epitomize “Babylon” you would think it would be everything associated with football. It is the acme of “contention” and the antithesis of “peace and love.” And yet you have these so-called ambassadors of the gospel at all levels going batshit crazy on Saturday afternoon; urging their anointed “boys” to level the opposing QB with a snot-bubble inducing blind side sack.

    I’d love to have someone plant a secret mike on President Tommy in his 50-yard-line seats this coming Saturday. The spinmeisters would have a real challenge on their hands to explain what it was the “prophet” really meant when he is overhead grunting under his breath, “Smack the bastards silly!”

    Anyway Runny, I’ll say it again: You’ve got to seriously reconsider your allegiances in the light of your new-found clarity of mind. To the extent they keep you loyal to their football-team-cum-cult-ambassadors, they make you a supporter of their twisted cause. And besides, come 11/22, wouldn’t you really rather be rooting for the team that’s gonna win? Why set yourself up for such a crushing disappointment?

  4. I’m afraid I’m no fan of football. For me, the arrival of Fall means season premieres of Prison Break, Terminator: The Sarah Conner Chronicles, The Fringe, and (most importantly) Heroes. 🙂

  5. ElGuapo says:

    Someone on Yahoo! Answers asked last week if there are many non-Mormon BYU fans. No others popped up though, so I’m glad to hear there’s at least you and me, Runtu. My response is on my blog, but here’s the gist of it:

    Religion is one thing, but football? C’mon, what kind of person turns their back on their team? 😉

  6. Mina says:

    I’m gonna try to forget you ever posted this, runtu…

  7. mac says:

    GO COUGARS!!!!

  8. sideon says:

    I don’t understand why football doesn’t include the post-game shower scenes. Grrr.

  9. silentkid says:

    I’m still a Cougars fan, too. Their offense looks pretty good, but I don’t think their defense is quick enough to warrant them a “BCS buster” mention. I get tired of Bronco’s visage of solemnity…I was talking to a friend of mine who also graduated from BYU and he describes Bronco’s expressions as what it would look like if “spirit voice” had a face. Awesome. This UCLA matchup will be interesting.

  10. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

