Life’s Not Fair

I’ve been watching the Angels play in the American League Division Series on TBS, and they keep running these ads wherein this chubby guy appears in different makeup doing impressions. The trouble is that, aside from barely passable versions of Dubya and John Madden, I can’t figure out who the hell he’s imitating. One ad appears to be a very bad impression of Jerry Seinfeld and George Costanza, but it’s so badly done it might be Al Pacino and Dr. Phil or maybe Joe Pesci and … Joe Pesci.

Every time this guy’s face appears on the screen, my kids ask me how such an untalented guy can have his own television show. And I’m reminded of all the other no-talent celebrities. It just reminds me that life is not fair. We live in a world wherein any number of interchangeable power-pop bands make millions (really, can anyone tell the difference between Fall Out Boy, All-American Rejects, and [insert generic band name here]?). Boneheaded Scientologist Tom Cruise makes a living playing the same damn person in every film. Over the years, The Beverly Hillbillies, Home Improvement, and America’s Funniest Home Videos have all been the top-rated TV shows in America. And Nicholas Sparks and Stephen King continue to churn out crap.

Yeah, I know, I sound like a snob, but you know what I mean. There’s no accounting for taste. Have you listened to an EFY CD lately?

And now the Angels have lost. Life’s not fair, indeed.

5 Responses to Life’s Not Fair

  1. MK says:

    What, you don’t like Frank Caliendo’s Charles Barkley? (lol, jk)

  2. aerin says:

    It’s true! Life isn’t fair! It’s great when my three year olds have started saying that back to me. Well Mom, life’s just not fair. I wonder if we say that a lot…my white sox aren’t doing so hot either. for the record.

  3. Tim says:

    don’t get me started on the Angels. . . except to say that they probably deserved it. How many people did they leave on base in those first two games?

  4. Bull says:

    Hey, I happen to love Stephen King.

  5. mcarp says:

    When my kids say, “That’s not fair!” I respond with, “A fair is a place where they have livestock and carnival rides, and it doesn’t come around until August.”

Leave a Reply

