It’s my birthday again

Outside it’s really gloomy looking. The sky is an oddly bright gray, but everything else is subdued, the leaves beyond the first bright colors of fall and moving towards that neutral rust-brown tinged with gray.

I’m home alone right now, which is nice in its own way. I went to sacrament meeting, which was uplifting. It felt good to be in the presence of so many people I respect and admire. I had kind of missed that, as I haven’t exactly been a regular at church. Mostly it was just nice to sit next to my wife and hold her hand for an hour.

I didn’t feel up to sitting through Sunday School alone (my wife teaches youth Sunday School), so I came home. The dog is curled up on a pillow nearby, and the cat is sleeping upstairs. Other than that, it’s just me. I put some steaks in to marinate, and then I’ll fire up the grill when everyone gets home.

My sister returned a copy of my book, which she said she had marked up for spelling and other errors, but so far I’m not seeing any marks. Maybe I just haven’t gotten far enough into the book. At lunch the other day, a coworker announced that he had read two books in the last month: mine and Salman Rushdie’s The Satanic Verses, and he liked mine better. Made me laugh.

So, a quiet birthday is nice. I’m sure the kids will make a fuss about me when they get home, so I’m basking in the peace for now.

5 Responses to It’s my birthday again

  1. C. L. Hanson says:

    At lunch the other day, a coworker announced that he had read two books in the last month: mine and Salman Rushdie’s The Satanic Verses, and he liked mine better.

    Congrats!!! That’s a comparison I aspire to as well!!!

    If you’d email me your book, I’d be more than happy to give my opinions ans suggestions!!!

  2. Happy birthday, John! You are officially one year richer than you were lat year!

  3. Now to see if anyone issues a fatwa against you for your book.

  4. sideon says:

    Happy belated birthday, runtu.

  5. Froggie says:

    Dagnab if I am not a sorry friend! Sorry I missed your birthday. We’ll have to do a belated lunch sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

