A Good Story

It’s difficult to type because I have this ridiculous brace on my left hand to immobilize my sprained thumb. The brace is impossible to hide, as it’s big and black and goes halfway to my elbow. My wife said to me that I need to think of a good story to explain my sprained thumb, but that’s the worst part: there is no story. I noticed one day that it was hurting, and it just got steadily worse.

In contrast, I have several rather large and noticeable scars on my upper body from surgery when I was a newborn baby. That’s actually not a bad story, but as a teenager I used to enjoy making up even better stories: I was in a knife fight, or I was shot in Vietnam. And the odd thing is that some people believed it.

With some people, building up the story made it impossible to tell the real one. The brother of a girl I was dating was wide-eyed and fascinated as I told of the firefight outside of Hanoi. When I finally confessed to it being surgery to repair a birth defect, he refused to believe it was something that mundane.

I guess that explains why it’s so difficult for some people to accept a mundane, earthly explanation for the otherwise miraculous. Daniel Peterson recently told me that it was more logical to believe that Joseph Smith dictated the Book of Mormon from words that appeared on a stone in a hat than it was to believe that Joseph or someone else wrote the book over six years (the time from the first suggestion of a book until its completion). I think that’s the same phenomenon as that of my girlfriend’s gullible brother. It’s as if the more far-fetched a story, the easier it is to believe.

As for my thumb, my best guess is that I somehow slept on the hand and injured it. My wife said I should say I got attacked by ninjas or that she got a little overzealous with the handcuffs. I don’t think people would believe either.

5 Responses to A Good Story

  1. GBSmith says:

    It sounds like your have de Quervain’s tensosynovitis. An ordinary splint won’t help. You’ll need one that includes the thumb and they are usually small and soft and pretty easy to tolerate. An option is to have one custom made by an occupational therapist. Good luck.

  2. runtu says:

    Well, it’s not a splint, really, but wrist brace that also immobilizes the thumb. The doctor also has me taking a crapload of anti-inflammatory medication (oxaprozin). But, I read the description, and you are probably right. I hope this gets better soon.

  3. Lamanite says:

    I’ve been through the Qur’an twice. The second time was just recently. And just as I readily say “I don’t honestly know how it came about except through supernatural assistance.”, regarding the BoM; I have to honestly say the same regarding the Qur’an. And I’m cool with that. But that’s another thing I can’t reconcile with D&C 1. What do I do? I put it on the alter of questions. Surprisingly, questions come off the alter all the time and go into the, doesn’t matter file, or the even more desirable- completely answered and more file. Or they just stay on the alter and wait upon the Lord.

    That’s just how me and God roll,

    Lamanite

  4. mac says:

    My first inclination was to comment on the “big and black and goes clear to my elbow”, but seeing this is a family show, I’ll avoid the temptation.

    Back in the 70’s — when I was attending the same middle school where my mother taught and in the era of long skirts — my mother caught the hem of her long skirt on a knob underneath the driver’s seat of our VW van and fell onto the parking lot and broke her arm. I was on the other side of the van and it was weird because one moment I was watching her get out of the van and then she just disappeared.

    Well, the kids at school came up to me on Monday and said, “How did your mom *really* break her arm?” I asked what she had told them and they gave me the “falling out of a car” story. I said, “That’s what happened.”

    They were incensed that there wasn’t some crazy story behind it. Maybe she’d been skiing and hit a tree or wiped out. Sorry to disappoint you fellas, but she fell out of our van.

    Same phenomenon.

  5. rebecca says:

    I knew this guy who had a massive scar up his arm, and when I asked what happened, this is what he told me:

    “Well, I like to work out, I like to lift weights. One day I was at the gym lifting weights, and I thought, “Hey, I can lift more than this.” So I put some more weight on. I lifted it pretty easily, so I put even more weight on. I kept putting more and more weight on, and my muscles kept straining harder and harder – then all of the sudden my muscles bulged clear out of my arm! And that’s why I have a scar.”

    I like your wife’s ninja idea.

Leave a Reply

