Go Cougars

I’ll probably alienate half my readers (all four of them) by posting this, but I’m still a BYU fan. Heaven help me, I can’t seem to jettison this vestige of Mormonness. It’s like the last hold the LDS church has on me.

Some of my friends are completely appalled at my bleeding blue. My friend Blixa tells me that she associates BYU with self-righteous racists, such as the folks she sat next to at a BYU-Utah game in the seventies. Others have told me that supporting my alma mater’s team amounts to tacit endorsement of the church and its teachings.

Growing up, I wasn’t much of a sports fan. I remember watching baseball games on TV with my dad, but that’s about it. But when I arrived in Provo my freshman year, I discovered that sporting events were the preferred dating venue, being cheap and frequent. That’s all it took for me. I was hooked.

So, even though I no longer believe in Mormonism, I still feel a mixture of awe and excitement every time I step into LaVell Edwards Stadium or watch a game tip off at the Marriott Center. My friend Tyler tells me he supports me, as he’s still a Cougar fan as well. I’m sure we’re not the only apostates sitting in the stands wearing blue.

So, tomorrow is the big game. Looking at it rationally, BYU’s defense is just not good enough this year, and Utah will probably win. But then, since when was religion (or football) a matter of reason? Go Cougars!

8 Responses to Go Cougars

  1. Mina says:

    Well, I would be remiss if I did not say that LaVell Edwards is a hell of a decent guy. In my opinion he ran counter to much of the sectarian nastiness of the school’s sports program. He conducted himself with a lot of dignity as a coach.

    And personally, he was also a good fellow. When my brother was in the hospital for cancer (back in the 70’s), I used to spell my parents by going to sit with him during his stay. One day, out of the blue, Coach Edwards dropped by to see how my brother was doing. He and my Dad had a professional relationship, but were not friends or anything. Nevertheless, Coach Edwards had heard that my brother was in the hospital with a serious and at first unknown prognosis. So he came by on his own, with no fanfare or entourage, and not to see my Dad either. He came just to see my brother, to say hello and hope to cheer him up.

    It was a really thoughtful gesture and he conducted himself–again at a contrast with most BYU “authorities”–with complete humbleness and humanity. He chatted with me out in the hall and seemed concerned about my feelings, too. At no time was there any mention of religion, or any effort to make it a “missionary moment.” He simply expressed empathy. He left before my parents arrived for the day–his visit truly was for my brother.

    (As it turned out, my brother’s cancer was caught in time and he’s since lived a full life with no problems from the tumor)

  2. Bull says:

    Me too. It’s strange, I no longer support BYU or the church but it seems like I’ll always be a BYU football fan.

  3. aubuchon says:

    gooooo cougars, one of my first dates with my spouse was at a lavell edwards devotional….true love, cougar blue 🙂

  4. ElGuapo says:

    Yep, turns out BYU football is still true. Well except that Max kept channeling Robbie Bosco tonight and throwing the ball to the other team.

  5. Odell says:

    I have mixed feelings about the Cougars, but none about my OU Sooners. BOOMER SOONER

  6. Persephone says:

    I’m sorry Runtu, but I just can’t get my brain wrapped around your rationalization on this issue. I mean, when you stop to consider the things that BYU — and especially its football team — stands for … well, it just becomes impossible (in my opinion) for someone with a brain unencumbered by the chains of Mormonism to feel any allegiance to them. Even if it is just football. Blixa’s comment about “self-righteous racists” is only the smallest tip of the iceberg of indictments that could be leveled against them. What about the entirely obnoxious presumption of superiority that weaves its way through almost everything that spews forth out of their coach’s mouth? What about the outrageous arrogance of so many of their star players (‘when you’re living right miracles happent …” – blah, blah, blah!).

    Just thinking about those holier-than-thou fu**ers and their presumptions of “chosen-ness” makes me want to vomit.

    Now, it’s a free country, and you’re free to do as you please as a sports fan. But I think your ability to influence people to escape the cult is degraded when you confess a continuing allegiance for the football team that is so much a symbol of everything that is wrong about Mormonism. My TBM father was such a psycho BYU fan (the “Lord’s Team”, he’d say) that I came to hate him as much for that as for his patriarchal tyranny over our family. I went to the UofU just to spite him, and I’ve never stopped hating BYU and everything it stands for. Now that I have “seen the light”, I’m even more anti-BYU than I ever was. I think you need to start taking steps to cure yourself of this misplaced loyalty — for your own good and also for the benefit of those who look to you as an example of the freedom that comes from escaping Mormonism.

  7. runtu says:

    Persephone,

    It’s just a sports team, and I suspect it’s the symbolism you associate with it that leads you to feel the way you do. I don’t have those associations, so it’s not a big deal. But I respect your strong feelings about it.

Leave a Reply

