The worst thing about my blog

I hate knowing that people I care about think less of me because I no longer believe. I think that’s the worst thing about leaving: no matter what you do or say, it’s your fault. You’re in the wrong.

For the last three years people have been telling me that I should just keep my beliefs and feelings to myself. Apparently, discussing problems with Mormonism is threatening or hurtful or whatever. But I would never ask others to keep their feelings quiet; that’s a recipe for resentment and depression, if you ask me.

So I’ll write what I think and feel, and I’ll feel bad that some people think the worst of me for it.

7 Responses to The worst thing about my blog

  1. mac says:

    You can’t control what other people think, feel or do. So, just keep it up. Some of us actually think better of you!

  2. Odell says:

    I decided a couple of years after leaving the LDS church to stop caring about how Mormons judged me. Sometimes it has been difficult, especially when the judgment is coming from people I care about.

    I guess you could just consider that the person judging you at least is concerned about you and in some weird cult way is doing his or her best.

    It is too bad that the LDS church conditions their members to be so mean and hurtful to those who disagree and especially for those who come to find out that those years of Sunday School lessons, mission service and temple attendance failed to teach us important aspects of Mormonism that would cause even the most devout to suffer and doubt, and sometimes to disbelieve.

  3. jill says:

    I appreciated it when my counselor told me feelings are neither right or wrong.

  4. fh451 says:

    I appreciate that you continue to blog about these issues. While we all want to feel validation, especially from those for whom we feel friendship and/or kinship, sometimes it just doesn’t happen. The only ones that will only ever feel approval and warmth from their peer group are those who never take a stand on anything.

    fh451

  5. Andrew says:

    It’s tough, but when people tell me that they don’t want to hear what I have to say (especially on the issue of leaving the church), I believe them and stop talking about those issues. It really lets me know who my *real* friends were and who was only there through fair weather.

    This doesn’t mean keep it to yourself, of course. But you have to adjust your crowd to keep your sanity and spirits up.

  6. Bull says:

    The point of blogging for me is to give me a place to express and explore my feelings in a way that shouldn’t be threatening to believers. I don’t invite them to read and if they don’t like it they can stay away and they mostly do. The flip side of that is that I rarely discuss religion with those close to me.

Leave a Reply

