Update on My Book

Since a few people have asked, here’s the latest on my book (which is an account of my mission in Bolivia).

A few weeks ago, I decided to send out queries to literary agents. I probably sent out 60 or so, just to people who said they would consider memoirs. To date I’ve had 5 positive responses (among a ton of rejections). 4 of those are still thinking about it, and one has already rejected it.

I figured that I needed to at least make one concerted attempt to get it published, and if nothing happens, I can at least say that I tried.

So, wish me luck. I have my fingers crossed.

7 Responses to Update on My Book

  1. Good luck!

    Don’t be discouraged by those rejection slips. Message in a Bottle got rejected hundreds of times before it became a sensation!

  2. runtu says:

    I’m not discouraged. Frankly, 5 positive responses is about 5 more than I expected. I like my book and think it’s worth publishing, but who knows?

  3. chanson says:

    Good luck!! Email me if you need another beta-reader.

  4. Kameron says:

    Congratulations on finishing, and on the progress so far. And ditto the good lucks.

  5. jr says:

    Is it possible to sell an electronic copy via Amazon?

  6. Odell says:

    Best of successs with the book. I’ve read it a couple of times now and thing it has a real chance of finding an interested publisher.

  7. Jase says:

    Just publish it yourself on lulu.com

Leave a Reply

