Wordsearch

Last night I noticed my youngest doing a “wordsearch” puzzle. I assumed, incorrectly, that it was something from school, but at one point, he said, “Dad, I got all of them except ‘matrimony.'”

 Of course, I immediately wondered why my son was doing something with ‘matrimony’ in it, so I checked it out. The puzzle was labeled “Protect the Family” and had a list of words and phrases, ranging from “ELIMINATEFILTH” to “FAMILYHOMEEVENING” to “DEFENDMARRIAGE.”

I asked him where he got this puzzle, and he said he found it on the coffee table in the living room. It was then that I turned the page over and saw that it had been printed on the back of the Relief Society newsletter for the month.

I don’t know if my son even knows what matrimony means, but it seems really odd to put this kind of thing on a newsletter for grown women. Of course, it’s not really appropriate for kids, either.

What a weird church it is sometimes.

6 Responses to Wordsearch

  1. K*tty says:

    It never seems to amaze me, that the so called righteous, are the first in line with the stones. And if they lack the nerve to throw the first one, they know how to incite others to do it, and then stand back, arms crossed, and deny it all. Can you find bigot in the word search?

  2. (That was directed toward the fact that there’s a “Protect the Family” wordsearch on the cover of the RS magazine, not toward K*tty’s comment.)

  3. MC says:

    My favorite is “ELIMINATEFILTH.” Is it just me, or are there eugenic undertones to that phrase?

    Seriously, though…I wouldn’t read too much into this puzzle. As far I as know, individual wards are responsible for their own relief society newsletter and the content therein. Given the demographic makeup of the LDS church–traditionalist, socially conservative, susceptible to right-wing propaganda–it is to be expected that some overzealous bitty…er…sweet spirit would inject those views into her pet project.

    As to why there’s a child’s puzzle game on the back of the newsletter in the first place–your guess is as good as mine.

  4. Seven says:

    OMG.
    “Eliminate filth?” Your crossword puzzle story is hilarious and scary at the same time.

Leave a Reply

