Prozac Nation

I’ve misplaced my bottle of fluoxetine, commonly known by the brand name Prozac. The last time I took one was on Friday. I really should have scoured the house for the bottle, but I have been too busy.

In the past when I’ve stopped taking it, within two to three days I’m really feeling it: I’m edgy, have trouble concentrating, and generally feel down and slightly out of control. I’m not feeling that way right now. Maybe it’s just that I still have my Seroquel, which I take before bed. It helps me to sleep, and perhaps the continuing good sleep is reducing the effects of the lack of Prozac.

Anyway, I thought I’d mention it here because when I’m dealing with depression, my mood changes, and it’s usually pretty evident in my writing. So, if you see anything here that sounds depressed, let me know. 🙂

Update: I found my pills at lunch, so I’m back on track.

5 Responses to Prozac Nation

  1. MC says:

    I took Zoloft a number of years ago for a condition unrelated to depression (although I was depressed at the time). The doctor I was seeing was a bit of a quack and he prescribed it to me “off label.” Anyway, it didn’t do anything for me, so I quit it after a couple months. That’s when the withdrawals started. For about a month, I would get what felt like mild electric shocks in my brain every few seconds. I also experienced bouts of unjustified rage stemming from nothing in particular.

    After that experience I decided that anti-depressants weren’t for me. I’ve always struggled with depression, but I’ve found the most effective treatment to be healthy food, exercise, and sunlight. (I’m convinced depression is caused, in some part, by vitamin D deficiency.)

    Anyway, the edginess and problems concentrating might not be from the lack of Prozac, but the withdrawal symptoms caused by immediate cessation.

  2. runtu says:

    Oddly enough, I’m taking high doses of Vitamin D and I’ve been very active in the last several months, but I would never underestimate the benefit I’ve derived from antidepressants. I am a functioning person now, and for so long I didn’t even realize how poorly I was functioning “normally.”

    No, antidepressants are not for everyone, but they certainly can help when they address a biological problem that causes depression. My life is so much better now that I’m getting treatment for my depression.

  3. Kameron says:

    Antidepressants are a tool. Like any other tool, they might not be ideal for every situation. I know people who’ve greatly benefitted from anitdepressants, and people who’ve had unpleasant experiences. But I know people who’ve stripped metric bolts using the wrong tools, y’know?

    You might want to consider a fish oil tablet along with medication. Double-blind studies show that fish oil can ease depression on its own or as an adjunct to prescription medication. Click here for tongue-spraining research abstracts:

    http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/cgi/content/abstract/163/6/969

  4. runtu says:

    Oddly enough, I take fish oil, too. 🙂

  5. jill says:

    I hear ya on skipping anti-depressants. I missed three days of Effexor, and it was darn near “rubber room” time for me. I too am thankful for what the meds have done to make me enjoy life at last.

    After reading a book about what a disruption of electricity could do to our overall supply delivery, I realized that it would be very wise to have a month’s worth of meds in back up. It would be possible to taper off slowly, but if I only had a couple of pills left and delivery was disrupted, it would be pretty horrible.

    My psych agreed to let me fill a month’s prescription in an increase dose, so I could “stockpile” by only taking half the amount…as insurance won’t cover a back up month.

    I’ve lived in So. Calif, and in the Gulf coast; I’ve watched other states get shut down by ice storms taking out grids, and yes…your pharmacy could very easily not have anything to give you for weeks at a time. The Red Cross can’t help you at all with that issue.

Leave a Reply

