Red-Letter Day

Yesterday was just an all-around good day for me. As I mentioned, I finally got to a good place regarding my participation on certain message boards, and that feels very liberating. But I also reached my goal weight after 5 months of diet and exercise. I’ve worked really hard to lose the weight and get into shape, and I really feel good. I’ve lost a total of 38 lbs., which given my height and bone structure (I’m 5’8″ and rather small of frame) is a huge amount of weight. I never want to get that fat again. I’m at the same weight I was in the Missionary Training Center when I was 19 years old. Anyway, it feels good, and I suppose I needed to share that.

Also, my wife scored 100 on her Biomedicine exam, which is wonderful. I’ve watched her take her studies so seriously, and it’s great to see it’s paying off. I would have said that her grades are amazing, but then I knew what she was capable of, and she is proving me right. I could not be more proud of her.

And my son, who is a sophomore, placed tenth in the pre-region cross-country meet yesterday. And that really is amazing. A sophomore is not supposed to do that well running against juniors and seniors. But more than that, my son is just a great kid. He works hard, he does what we ask of him, and he is just generally a pleasant person to be around. I am very proud of him, too.

Maybe it’s the adderall, but I feel good these days and genuinely hopeful for the future. Of course, having said that, I’m sure something is bound to go wrong. But I feel like I can handle it.

5 Responses to Red-Letter Day

  1. Saganist says:

    All of that is just awesome! I’m glad things are going well for you, and great job losing the weight. Whatever you’re doing, keep it up!

  2. Odell Campbell says:

    Congrats to all!

  3. chanson says:

    Fantastic!!! I’m glad to hear that you and your family are doing so well! 😀

  4. jill says:

    Hey…guess what? I think I found your weigh. It snuck on my gut. Would you like it back now?

    (Just kidding and I’m so happy that a Red Letter Day popped up on your life’s calendar. And oddly, several other people I know are having an unusally good day too!)

  5. Odell Campbell says:

    Just thought of a question. If you have a “RED letter day.” does that mean you’re in the black?

Leave a Reply

