Taking a Break

I’ve been too busy and too stressed lately to spend much time thinking about writing, so I’m going to take a break for a bit to catch my breath.

A couple of things:

First, I’m seriously considering self-publishing my book (my missionary memoir). I hadn’t wanted to do that, but I’ve changed my mind. So, if you would be interested in purchasing my book, let me know, so I can decide whether there’s enough interest to justify publishing it.

Second, I have to applaud the LDS church’s decision to update its mission statement to include caring for the needy and poor. I’ve been cynical in the past about the purpose of the church, but it really is good that they are increasing the focus on doing good to others. Mormons are wonderful, giving people, for the most part, and adding this emphasis can only make things better.

Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to everyone. I’ll write again when I have some time.

15 Responses to Taking a Break

  1. I’m interesting in giving you money, especially if I can download it onto my Kindle through Amazon.

  2. Glenn says:

    Another interested buyer here!

  3. GBSmith says:

    I’ll buy a few copies and provide some backing if you need it.

  4. Reed Manson says:

    It is a very entertaining book. I will give you $20 for a hardbound copy.

  5. Odell Campbell says:

    It’s distrubting that the church didn’t view helping the poor as one of its primary purposes previously. Also, I fear that the church will do nothing more than add further workload and financial demands at the ward level and do nothing to use its vast wealth to meet the needs of the poor. We’ll see.

  6. chanson says:

    Of course I’d order a copy. We can write some posts to help promote it on Main Street Plaza as well.

  7. runtu says:

    chanson, I did send you a copy of my working draft, didn’t I? If not, I would certainly appreciate your looking at it and giving me some suggestions/edits.

  8. ChrisG says:

    I’d be interested in purchasing your book!!

  9. K*tty says:

    I would also be interested in your book.
    Take a break, enjoy the holidays and your family.
    I find myself taking a break also. Just trying to re-focus.

  10. jr says:

    I would buy one.

  11. Odell Campbell says:

    As for the book. I’d be happy to buy some books too as well as provide some financial backing.

  12. Kameron says:

    I’d gladly buy a few copies.

  13. Jesse says:

    Sign me up, too.

  14. John M says:

    Lurker here…remember when U were posting on exmo…the book’ll be good…go for it.

  15. Rebecca S says:

    I would buy a copy. I’ve enjoyed reading your mission stories.

    I’d be happy with a PDF, but bound books are always nice.

Leave a Reply

