Sunday is my favorite day

Yesterday, our sacrament meeting theme was “Keeping the Sabbath Day Holy.” The first two speakers gave pretty much the standard list of things to do and not do on the Sabbath, but the third speaker started by saying, “Sunday is my favorite day of the week.”

Most people I know in the church have mixed feelings about Sunday. Yes, it’s nice to meet friends at church, do some focused gospel study, and get the occasional spiritual uplift. But if you have small children and/or a large family, getting ready for church can be about as fun as herding rattlesnakes. And LDS meetings aren’t noted for being stimulating.

So, I was anxious to hear why he loved Sundays so. He said that he loved Sundays because it was the only day he could take a nap.

2 Responses to Sunday is my favorite day

  1. Odell says:

    Sunday is a great day now that I am no longer Mormon. I wake up, drink a cup of coffee, do the crossword puzzle, paint, play with the kids and watch a movie with the kids before bed. I have no need or time for a nap anymore.

  2. Reason says:

    lol Odell, I was going to say the exact same thing. Now that I’m no longer a mormon, Sunday is my favorite day. Before it was my most loathed day of the week. I just wrote a whole bunch about what I hated about the LDS church on Sundays, but I think I’ll just keep that to myself.

    Interesting blog, I found it linked from http://www.mormonthink.com/templeweb.htm. Odd considering it still looks like you’re still an active mormon.

Leave a Reply

