No longer carried about by the winds of doctrine

The last few years have been a real struggle for me spiritually, in that I have not been able to find a path in life that I know God wants me to take after leaving Mormonism. But I think my search is over, and my new spiritual guide is right here in Utah:

At least he’s cheaper than Todd Coontz.

2 Responses to No longer carried about by the winds of doctrine

  1. At least you won’t be falling asleep in church.

  2. I once heard an allegory from a Buddhist writer that helped me with my own relationship with religion. I will paraphrase what I can remember…

    On the journey to enlightenment we use the raft to cross the river, but once upon the other side of the water, the raft becomes only a burden who try to drag it along the path. Release the raft and leave it for those behind who yet need to cross the river and continue along the the path less burdened.

Leave a Reply

