Vengeance Is Mine

This is all I’m going to say about this, but there has been a disturbing number of vicious attacks going back and forth between members of two Mormon-related message boards. I’ve tried to stay out of it, as I don’t want to add to the rancor, but things have become so nasty that I felt I should say something on record.

I learned a long time ago that once you write something down online, it’s there forever. You can apologize and try to mend fences, but the next time someone gets upset with you, the old resentments return, and someone inevitably brings up your past behavior. Several times people have dredged up things I hadn’t thought of in years to show what a terrible person I am. And I admit that I have said some mean-spirited, nasty, and terrible things on occasion. I’d like to think that’s in the past, but I am not perfect. My misdeeds will always be out there, so my only choice is to own up to my failings whenever they rear their ugly heads. What else can I do?

I’ve also held grudges much longer than I should have. One former friend hurt me deeply, and I like to tell myself that I’ve gotten over that hurt. I think I have for the most part, but then I bring it up for some reason or other, usually to make a point. I always regret it. So, once again, I apologize to the poster who goes by MorningStar by unnecessarily bringing up the past. I have long since forgiven you, and I hope you can forgive me.

But the worst thing one can do with resentment and past hurts is try to get revenge. It does no one any good. Revenge just motivates the other person to seek revenge in an escalating cycle. That’s what we’ve seen lately, with mocking and derision (and I’m ashamed to say I engaged in a bit of it) turning into obscene, misogynistic, and very hateful images and words posted on several places. There’s no excuse for that, and what has happened has sickened me.

I appreciate those who not only have called for peace but who have also gone out of their way to remove the offensive images and words. At this point, there’s no point in trying to fix blame for those who “started it,” but at least we can be grateful for those who have tried to end it.

2 Responses to Vengeance Is Mine

  1. Diane Sower says:

    It’s ridiculous to encourage ill feelings and harbor discontent just for the sake of doing it. If someone is big enough to apologize, call a spade a spade, then it’s always good to move on.

  2. Zen Mormon says:

    I have generally found little reason to visit either board, for this reason primarily. It seems that actual dialogue takes place anywhere but a message board.

Leave a Reply

