Slightly New Look

I finally made a small change to my blog to make it look less generic. I’ve been more concerned about the quality of the writing than I have about the format, which I admit is pretty bland and boring. I probably wouldn’t have changed it had I not stumbled across a blog from a conspiracy-theorist nutjob I had some contact with a few years ago that used the exact same format. I figured that was a sign, so I changed the banner at the top of the page. I may change more with time, but I am pretty busy with other stuff.

The picture I chose is meaningful to me. It is the view looking east from the front of the house where my missionary companion and I ate lunch and dinner every day when I first arrived in El Alto, Bolivia. In the foreground is essentially a garbage dump, which doubled as a public toilet (the man on the far right is probably picking a spot to squat or has just finished). But if you look up from the garbage, you see two spectacular Andean peaks. On the left is Mururata, which is over 19,000 feet high; on the right is Illimani, which is over 21,000 feet high and can be seen from almost anywhere in La Paz.

The photo reminds me that, no matter how bad things get in our everyday lives, we can look up and beyond the mundane and find the beautiful and the spectacular.

4 Responses to Slightly New Look

  1. Hey,

    That photo is great! And you should try adding a fixed background which can give it a pretty cool look. I am always looking to make my site better by gaining insight from other people’s blogs. Keep the writing up!

  2. Dan Nuffer says:

    Thumbs up on the top picture with the mountains. Thumbs down on using the background picture.

  3. Faith says:

    I like it! Of course, I liked your old format just fine, because I wasn’t visiting for your format but for what you had to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

