Book Review: Killing Lincoln, by Bill O’Reilly

A friend got me started on Goodreads.com, and I can’t resist reviewing books I’ve read. It seems like a good idea to post it here, as well. 
I apologize that the first review is of a book that isn’t very good, but here goes:

Killing Lincoln: The Assassination that Changed America ForeverKilling Lincoln: The Assassination that Changed America Forever by Bill O’Reilly
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

My dad gave me this book because he said O’Reilly’s ghostwriter “is really good.” Having recently finished Shelby Foote’s excellent three-part series on the Civil War, I thought I would enjoy reading a more detailed account of Lincoln’s assassination.

Some other reviewers have mentioned the book’s many problems, but what kept getting in my way was the amateurish writing style that is weighed down with cliches, hackneyed phrases, and cute gimmicks, such as constantly referring to Lincoln as “the man who had xx days to live.” No kidding. This is a book about an assassination, after all.

If you don’t know much about Lincoln’s last days and don’t want to bother with a more intelligent book, this one is fine. But I can’t recommend it.

View all my reviews

One Response to Book Review: Killing Lincoln, by Bill O’Reilly

  1. Stan says:

    I am currently reading “Team of Rivals” which I am very slowly getting through. Other good books, like yours, keep taking priority. =:) Anyway, the reviews are pretty good and it covers the entire life of Lincoln.

    One thing I find fascinating with Lincoln is the overlap with the Nauvoo years. Lincoln was a state rep at the time, starting in 1838, and may have been involved somehow with the Nauvoo charter and other events in Nauvoo.

Leave a Reply

