I was thinking that most religious traditions have purification rituals. Native Americans have kivas and such, Christians have baptism and penance, and Mormons have washing and anointing that we can become washed clean from the blood and sins of this generation.

But how do we become washed clean from the blood and sins of Mormonism? I know a lot of ex-Mormons who hold residual guilt for things they said and did as Mormons. I know I have my own regrets. Maybe it’s time for a purification ritual for me. Here are some ideas:

Dusting off my feet in front of the MTC or the temple.

Making a burnt offering of old garments or books.

Sacrificing a pork shoulder to my smoker.

Treat each day as a clean slate without any Mormonism in it.

Resign.

6 Responses to

  1. I like to think of my morning coffee as a purification ritual. 🙂

  2. FireMountain says:

    I wish that I COULD treat each day as a clean slate without any Mormonism in it, none whatsoever. I resigned about 14 years ago. But you can take the person out of the church, but can you take the church out of the person? I was Mormon, very active, very dedicated, albeit struggling with my issues with both the institution and the culture for almost 50 years. I’m now 63. I waged battle, respectfully, at least on my part, with my retired BYU prof father about my having left the church, until the day he died. I took care of him the last few months of his life. I find that each day brings more opportunities to “purify”, to revisit what I believe and what I don’t believe, and what I can set down, even if the increments of letting go are tiny.

    Living in Utah I am reminded almost daily of the church, my own history with it, and also how far I still have to go to be entirely free, and “purified”. I realize that I may be doing this the rest of my life.
    One of my life goals is to live some place where there are more dogs than Mormons. But I can’t just wait for that to happen and so I have to address daily my grief and anger over the church and what it does to people’s lives, what it did to my life.

  3. pollypinks says:

    You can’t totally take the mormon out of your life, so why kill yourself trying? I think I can best some of you in the area of enjoyment though. Having spent years with illness, much of it stomach related, sitting in a hot tub at midnight, watching the stars, and toking on my pipe sure as hell beat home making meeting.

  4. FireMountain says:

    I think that how deep you were in is commensurate with how long it takes to fully leave. I have observed that those who were never very invested in the first place have a much easier time of it getting out of the church and also getting the church out of them than those for whom the church was life.

  5. […] In Theology, Oxymormon Girl provides some interesting discussion of the history around the The New Testament, Diane Tingen sings about questioning, and Runtu contemplates purification rituals. […]

  6. I would like to offer you the opportunity to read my controversial new novel, A Mormon Massacre, available on Amazon. Here is a little information about the book:

    This modern-day novel is informed by the actual massacre of 150 innocent Americans allegedly by Mormon zealots in the Utah Territory in September of 1857. This reigned as the largest mass slaughter of Americans by Americans until the Oklahoma City bombing, excluding the Civil War. In present-day Nashville, Tennessee, Jeremiah Cameron grows up with a prejudice against the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for the murders in 1857. Many Camerons died at the hands of Mormon assassins at Mountain Meadows.

    Jeremiah’s hatred multiplies when his father, Luke, informs him that his mother suffered abuse at the hands of her Mormon husband after being forced into marriage at twelve years old. Due to his father’s association with the Mormon Victim’s Action Committee, Jeremiah gets an opportunity to go undercover in hopes of exposing Mormons as abusers. With his father’s encouragement and the knowledge of his mother’s horrific experience, Jeremiah accepts M-VAC’s offer to train and insert him into an LDS community.

    Jeremiah’s objective broadens when he sees more than he expected. Now he wants to expose the entire Church as a violent and dangerous fraud.

    If you are interested, please email me at rinald47@hotmail.com and let me know which format you would prefer (Kindle, Nook, pdf, Word).Thank you.

    Joe Rinaldo

Leave a Reply

