When it rains

So, Monday morning my employers called a mandatory meeting at 9:00 for me and 79 of my colleagues. As of February 1, I will no longer be employed by my current employer. Merry Christmas.

I’ve been through this before, as the high-tech industry is notorious for a lot of turnover, so I’m not particularly stressed. More annoyed, really. I was just starting to feel like I was almost ready for Christmas, and now I’ll be spending all my free time looking for a job.

The good news is that I have two months of paid employment plus 5 weeks of severance, and my insurance is good until the end of February. Fortunately, we had time to sign up for my wife’s insurance, which she has always declined in favor of mine. Ironically, I will almost certainly receive a healthy bonus check as I leave the building because our larger division has done extremely well this year.

Needless to say, we are going to be extremely frugal over the next few months. I feel bad for the people who’ve never been through this before. There were some very stressed faces today. One guy said he’s not going to tell his wife until after Christmas so she won’t worry. Big mistake, IMO.

So, my resume is out again. I had updated it a couple of months ago because I was worried that the company was in trouble. When I took this job, my wife made me promise we wouldn’t go anywhere for 5 years, which I reached in July (I got a plaque, a lapel pin, and a fishing pole).

I think I would have been more stressed if they had just walked us out of the building, as has happened to me before. So, wish me luck. In a twisted way, it’s nice to have a dose of perspective.

 

6 Responses to When it rains

  1. Good luck finding a new job!

  2. Heather says:

    Just went through this ourselves and luckily my husband was able to find something within a month. It sounds like your company was fairly generous tho in giving you time to find a job and severance pay.

    Good luck to you. Keep us posted!

  3. zimmy says:

    good luck.

  4. J says:

    howdoyoufindajob.blogspot.com – very interesting blog to find a job

  5. […] personal stories, Runtu became another statistic of the economy (don’t forget his book would make a good Christmas present!). Angela recounted a lovely […]

  6. chanson says:

    Good luck to you! I’ve been there too a few years ago — though my company had been laying more and more people off for a year when the axe fell on me, so I had plenty of time to plan my post-employment strategy. 😉 I hope plenty of people buy your book for Christmas!!

Leave a comment